FOR 20 YEARS RED OCTOBER TOURS OFFERING YOU UNMATCHED QUALITY & VALUE

HomeAbout UsTour OverviewBooking TermsContact UsFAQ

 

 


RED OCTOBER CLIENT REVIEWS

 

 

The same Red October Guide, Driver and Transport will accompany you through the Tour.
Red October USA will provide you with EXACTLY the same Programs and Prices as RO St. Petersburg office.

Red October USA has been successfully working with RO clients over the past seven consecutive years!

 

 

 

RED OCTOBER CLIENT REVIEWS Below are some Testimonials of our Customers who we helped to book Red October St Petersburg Tours.
 Reviewed September 30, 2015
I never take time to write reviews but for this wonderful experience I had to. We just returned 2 weeks ago from Baltic Cruise. We used Red October instead of getting our own visa's or using the planned cruise shore excursions. Thank goodness we did!! We were meet at shore by our tour guide Alona( hope spelling is correct) who was fantastic! Her knowledge, personality and love of St. Petersburg was unbelievable! Thank you Mike Finn ! He lives in New York which makes it easier and gives you peace of mind to talk to . Everything he said was exactly as he saiid it would be! I was apprehensive and a little worried as we had never booked independently before. We always used the ship's excursions. Never again ! With Alona as our guide and a wonderful driver we had a very personal experience in St. Pete's. We also were a group of only six, never had to wait in line and saw 5 times what others on the ship did. Alona's love and knowledge of the city was way beyond what we ever expected! She made our 3 days a historical personal experience! And the price was much better than those offered from cruise line. Anyone thinking of visiting St. Pete's I would definitely use Red October without hesitation!!! We also used Red October to plan a day excursion to Berlin . Again everything was perfect and exactly like Mike Finn told us it would be. We were met by a wonderful Tour guide who lived in Berlin her whole life. She lived thru the Berlin Wall going up and coming down! Wonderful Day. As I stated earlier I have never taken time before to write a review but was so appreciative of those before who wrote about using Red October . Because of those reviews we used RO! And I am so glad we did.. We saw more payed less and had a very personal experience in one of the most beautiful interesting cities in the world. Again thank you to our tour guide Alona! Red October obviously has a valued guide with her! Her historical knowledge was unbelievable her personality a gift! We thank her, Mike Finn and Red October!! We had Mike and Alona set up what sights we should see! They covered everything possible we could see in 3 days! Thank you Red October!
 
Visited September 2015

****************************************************************************************

Reviewed September 28, 2015
I searched and found Red October Tours, I had never heard of them before, but we were looking for an alternative to the Princess Cruise Line Tours.
Interestingly they Princess Cruises provide you “IMPORTANT INFORMATION re: RUSSIAN IMMIGRATION” and inform you “Passengers booked on a Princess Tour do not require a Russian Visa”, this leads you to assume that you must book with the cruise line OR get a Visa – NOT TRUE.
As long as you have a tour booked with a recognised tour provider you will have no problem and Red October was outstanding, and you do not pay until you have completed the tour.
We did a Baltic Cruise, then a week in Paris and a few days in Hong Kong – our trip highlight was our private 2 person / 2 day tour with Red October in St Petersburg. Our guide was Catherine and our driver Gena. We live in Australia it was necessary that everything worked (it is a long way if you have to go back), we booked online no problems.
I am emphasising all this information to ensure you, it is correct. I was really annoyed that the Cruise line is not completely truthful.
Anyone arriving by cruise ship and doing a tour in Russia you are given a 72 hr visa.

For Reference – this was our tour
DAY ONE
Pickup outside Passport control
City orientation drive: main streets and squares of St. Petersburg.
Early admission - Peterhof: “Russian Versailles”, official Summer Residence of Russian Tsars
Stroll through the wonderful “Lower Park” with its fountains.
Hydrofoil back to St Petersburg – drive meets you at dock
LUNCH
Tour of the Hermitage Arts Museum Living and gala halls of the Winter Palace
Faberge Museum
Return to ship

DAY TWO
Pickup outside Passport control
Departure for Tsarskoye Selo, official residence of Russian Tsars.
Early admission - Catherine Palace - Amber Room included
Stroll in the beautiful Catherine park with its numerous pavilions and small palaces, ponds and canals, marble statues and monuments.
Drive back to St. Petersburg.
LUNCH
Walking at Nevsky Prospect – the main street of St. Petersburg.
A short stop to pay RED OCTOBER invoice
Visit Peter-and-Paul Fortress, including inside
Return to ship

Our guide Catherine, spoke English perfectly, along with her knowledge and experience, we avoided crowds everywhere we went and she knew where the easily accessible toilets were, may sound silly, but you could queue for 30minutes or more in some places.
Gena our driver was a pure gentleman chauffeur with incredible local knowledge and his experience in the Mercedes Van, kept us out of traffic.
If you ever get the chance to go to St Petersburg, on a cruise or not, use Red October Tours
Thank you again to Catherine & Gena – our holiday highlight.
PS St Petersburg on a cruise - you do NOT need a visa – you do NOT have to do a ship tour, but you cannot just get off and walk around, you must be escorted by a recognised tour provider.
Visited September 2015
********************************************************************************************************
Reviewed September 23, 2015
Our family recently did a Baltic Cruise and we decided to book a tour in St. Petersburg through Red October based on the recommendation of our friends who used them years ago to tour the city. We are so glad we did as it was the highlight of our cruise experience. Alona, our tour guide, and Gena, our driver, were courteous, full of knowledge, and fun to travel around the city with in the car. We really appreciated how Alona adapted our tour for our two boys and actively engaged them. She was also great about showing us so much of the city without pushing us too hard when we needed more time at a particular location. Red October was very professional to deal with throughout the planning of the trip and in conducting the trip. We followed the plans as needed and Alona was great about meeting our individual exceptions (like going to the Pavel Bure hockey store :)).
Visited September 2015

*****************************************************************************************************************

Reviewed July 29, 2015
There were 13 of us from a HAL cruise. All ages! We arranged our tour on the internet via Mike Finn. Very prompt responses and clear information. Could do without all the multi-colored high-lighted emails......Once we got off the ship, past Russian customs (not a big deal) we meet Alana. NOT a Babushka! She was charming, considerate and knowledgeable. Can't imagine our two day tour any better without her. We covered all the sites we wanted and she gave us some extra tips along the way. I'd highly recommend her. The only minor inconvenience was toward the end of the second day, while we were in this little shop paying our invoices, the internet connection was super slow and it took about 45 minutes too long to settle up. Still, I'm giving them and Alana 5 stars.
 
Visited July 2015

***************************************************************************************************

Wonderful guide for our three days in St. Petersburg”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 August 2013
We were two couples on a Baltic cruise which included three days in St. Petersburg, Russia. I booked the cruise with Red October as a result of reviews in Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.

We arranged the tour with Mike Finn in the United States and everything fell into place without a hitch. Great information provided beforehand and no problem leaving the ship (in spite of what the cruise lines tell you about visas, e.tc) and our guide, Elena, was waiting on the pier.

Elena, a university English professor, is wonderful. Her knowledge and especially her passio, for the sights and sounds of St. Petersburg are incredible. She really makes the extraordinary sights come alive.

What an enjoyable three day experience! We would highly recommend Red October to anyone wanting to participate in an informative tour of this delightful city. We went on this cruise because we always wanted to visit St. Petersburg. With Elena and Red October, we were well rewarded.
Visited July 2013

***************************************************************************************************************

Mike,
 
We have finished our two days in St. Petersburg with Red October.  They met us right on the scheduled time with our name, we went out to the van and it was great as the back opened up and it had a lift for Julia in her wheelchair.  She stayed in the wheelchair while we drove around the city and getting out at the venues.  Their choice of sites with access was great.  The driver Valintine and the guide Kate were excellant.  We didn't pay until the second day which was just as good.  We had no problems at imigration.  We would highly recommend them and too bad they are not in other cities.
 
Thanks
 
Bob and Julia, July 2013

bob.julia.doherty@sympatico.ca

*******************************************************************************************************

Dear Mike,

We would like to express our sincere appreciation to you and the entire Red October staff and partners who made our recent stops in Berlin and St. Petersburg visits we shall always remember.   

Regarding the guides, each was excellent.  In Berlin we cannot say enough about Howard who was very knowledgeable about both the places we toured as well as the historical perspective, which made our understanding of each more complete.  Howard is terrific! 

In St. Petersburg, where we spent three days with Dmitri we were extremely impressed with his knowledge of the city and its history, and particularly his passion for art.   

Overall, we were extremely satisfied with the entire trip – a perfect itinerary which met all of our expectations:  very good coordination of services, including vouchers, transportation connections and all arrangements.  Please thank also the two drivers, one who drove us to Berlin and back, as well as spent the entire day driving us around the city with Howard, and the driver who took us throughout St. Petersburg with Dmitri. 

And finally we must thank you personally Mike, for working with us to put together a trip that met our budget and our desires to see so much in a limited amount of time. We especially appreciate your assistance and willingness to work with our particular scheduling needs.  Your prompt replies to our inquiries and the smooth processing of our paperwork are yet other examples as to why we have told all of our friends about our wonderful experiences with Red October. Please feel free to use our comments as references for any potential future customers who should be lucky to work with you and Red October.  Thank you again, Mike for a great trip

Sincerely,

Marie and Stan Repko, July 16, 2013 

PS.  Please let me know if there is anyone or somewhere else we should share our comments.

marepko@comcast.net

***************************************************************************************************

Att: Mike Finn

My wife and I returned yesterday July 9, 2013 from our cruise and I wanted to tell you how pleased we were with all the arrangements made thru you. All my worries were in vain as everything went very smooth. The guide and driver were excellent and very accommodating. Please feel free to use my name as a reference. I look forward to doing business with you in the future again.

Sincerely,

Joseph Roisman,

Executive Vice-president

Perry Ellis International

joseph.roisman@pery.com

*****************************************************************************************************************************************

Mike,

Red October exceeded our expectations during our 2 day shore excursion in St Petersburg off a cruise ship. Red October has options that you can pick and Mike Finn has excellent suggestions for the tours that would suit your needs. Setting up the tour with Mike Finn was very easy and fast who provided us with all the information we needed to get off the ship quickly and efficiently and all the paperwork and directions to get through Russian imigration with no problems. We made it through immigration very quickly since there were only 5 of us on the tour. There was no need to get a Russian visa since Red October is a registered travel agency. Catherine was an excellent tour guide who loved her city. We saw a tremendous amount of St Petersburg. There were only 5 people in our group so we were able to see a lot more than the large ship excursion groups and to spend time where we wanted to. We were able to move very fast with only 5 in our group so we got ahead of most of the other large tour groups. The second day we had lunch provided and it was excellent. It was in a small restaraunt in St Petersburg that served authentic Russian food. I would highly recommed Red October.if you are traveling to St Petersburg.

Dennis and Sue Plato,

June, 2012

d5807riley@gmail.com

*******************************************************************************************************

My wife and I used Red October for both St. Petersburg and Berlin on a recent Celebrity Cruise. Mike Finn made the arrangements hassle free on the front end. In both cities the drivers and tour guides were fantastic. No lines, no traffic, just smooth travel. We also had Helen in Russia. She was a fund of knowlege, and seemed to unlock entry to wherever we went. Nothing but praise for travel well done
We joined a group for the Red October tour while on a cruise to the Baltic. Helen was our guide. She is a gem. She had experiences timed so well we had almost no wait anywhere at any point. The city was celebrating it's birthday on a weekend and very crowded. It was smooth as silk. She is very knowledgeable and open about life in the the USSR then and now Russia. This brings added dimension not just a rote report on this or that building. It would be hard not to be awed no matter how you saw the incredible palaces and cathedrals in Saint Petersburg but being able to do it without being stressed was a true gift.
We also had a delightful lunch of food that was local. Most others we spoke to who did other tours di dnot enjoy their meal. We also were taken to the ideal photo op spots at just the right time with no another tour in sight.
We loved it and recommend it highly

Richard Spirer , May- June 2012

rspirer@comcast.net

*********************************************************************************************************

 

Mike, 
I want to thank you so much for all you did to book a tour for 8 to St. Petersburg. We sailed on Royal Caribbean Jewel of the Seas on August 23rd, 2010 and were in St. Petersburg August 29th & 30th. Once I received the initial information regarding a 2 day St. Petersburg tour from you, I had several questions and wanted to include an additional site. I appreciated being able to talk to you and all your insight to various attractions. Because of that we were able to modify the itinerary to meet our needs. In addition, I would like to thank you for your quick response to all my emails. You answered all my questions completely and alleviated much of my apprehension. The sponsor letter for getting off the ship was especially helpful. It was very clear once we left the ship that Red October is a first-class tour company and the process was efficient. You were an integral part of that smooth process. Our tour was absolutely fabulous, unforgettable and exceeded my expectations. The bus was very comfortable and spacious for the 8 of us. Our driver, Eugene was very good, always ready to meet us. Svetlana, our tour guide was outstanding. She was extremely knowledgeable, efficiently moved us through the various sites to avoid crowding and generally just took great care of us. Through her educational background we truly gained additional insight into Russian history. We were very happy to experience Russian cuisine both days even though we had brought sack lunches as recommended. Thanks again for your outstanding assistance. Red October is truly a top-notch and professional company.
 Sincerely, Judy & Don Jenn
jjjenn2@cox.net

 
     
 

Thanks, to Red October our St. Petersburg experience was unforgettable. We were apprehensive about getting off our ship, visa, and entering Russia, but Mike Finn gave us a step by step instruction. There was someone to meet us and our guide, Svetlana and driver Eugene were perfect. 2 days we toured St. Petersburg. Svetlana, with a PHD in Medieval History, was incredible. Her knowledge was impressive. St. Petersburg was beyond what we imagined. Our group was 8 people. Svetlana watched over us and cared for us as if we were family. We would have loved more time with Svetlana to have her teach us more about her culture. She was an excellent ambassador Russia. Eugene, our driver was very good. He was, always right up front to pick us up, always in the front row parking, always on time. Perfect! Perfect! Red October is an extremely professional, well organized tour company. We would highly recommend this company to anyone touring St. Petersburg and beyond.
 Thank You!
Mike and Paula Peterson
petesecho@cox.net

 
     
 

Mike-   My wife and I recently took a 2 day tour of St. Petersburg, Russia that you had arranged for when our ship, the Princess Star came to port on August 14-15, 2010. Without question, this was the best organized, most thorough, and by far the best educational experience we've ever had in a foreign country. Your guide was simply fabulous. From the beginning, she was like an old friend that wanted to show you all the things that made her country great. Because we were a small group, we were able to get in/out of complicated sites such as the Hermitage in a painless manner. Most times, we arrived at various locations prior to the general public arriving so we didn't have to contend with crowds. We never felt rushed. She frequently stopped and thoroughly answered our questions. Many times, she even anticipated the mood of our group and provided even more knowledge in a very down to earth manner. She was thoroughly professional and was never flustered even when we ran into a bit of rain late on the second day. Bottom line, Mike we would be delighted to recommend Red October, and especially you for making this a most memorable shore excursion.  
Linda & Peter Greenhill
Valencia Shores, Lake Worth, Fl.
PGREENHILL@aol.com

Mike, My friends and I have just returned from our Baltic Cruise and I am thrilled to tell you that the highlight of our visit was St. Petersburg. Red October service was outstanding! Our guide Helen was incredibly articulate, knowledgeable and patient – we asked so many questions and she took the time to answer each one. Our driver Andrew was polite and very friendly.  We only had 2 days and Red October was outstanding in cramming as much into our agenda as we could physically manage. Mike, thank you for your attention to detail as we planned the trip and ensuring we had the best guide. Your company is first class and I have already recommended your services to my friends and colleagues. Please feel free to include my note amongst your customer testimonials. 
Best regards,
Denise – Baltic Cruise – Star Princess August 4-5, 2010
desouza_denise@hotmail.com

Hi Mike, This is long overdue and I’ve written this mentally so many times that I actually thought I had sent you a previous note – but don’t see it in my “Sent” folder so must not have. All 28 or us cannot thank you enough for the wonderful Red October Tour you helped arrange. Everything you said would happen – happened. The quality of the buses was fabulous and comfortable – the meal in St. Petersburg couldn’t have been any better – the tour itself was perfect and covered everything – the headsets made it so easy to hear -- but most importantly – the Guides were UNBELIEVABLE!! All 3 were “Helen’s” but they all had such an incredible knowledge of the history and facts of the area we were all blown away. Outstanding of the 3 was Elena Lyapakina. She was upbeat and happy and so incredibly helpful all the time. She joined us the second day when one of the other guides Aunt passed away and she could not do the second day. We were very fortunate to have Elena join us.  Thank you Mike, for all you did to set this trip up so expertly. You are definitely right that Red October is the Cadillac of tour companies. I hope to use you again many times in the future.
Dale Davis, President/Owner
Treat Yourself Travel
Phone/Fax: 407-251-4741
E-Mail: Dale@TreatYourselfTravel.com
Website: www.treatyourselftravel.com

Hello Mike — Just wanted to let you know we really enjoyed our tours in Berlin and St. Petersburg! The guides and drivers were always on time, and very polite, knowledgeable and responsive to our questions and needs. We were particularly impressed with the way our SPB guide (Marina) managed to cut to the front of every line—saving valuable time. She also managed the ticket pick-up for our Kirov Ballet performance while we had dinner. I will definitely recommend Red October to anyone considering a trip to the Baltic. And one day, we hope to tour Moscow too. 
Sincerely, 
Jerry Wiese
Johns Creek, GA
jerry@pointedvd.com

Irina,  Both the Kovich's and the White's want to thank you for a great 2 day tour in Russia. You were so educational, entertaining, and made the 2 days very special. Your city was magnificent. We will never forgot the sites you showed us. The weather was great, and so were you! We certainly will recommend you to any of our friends who go to Russia.  Also, I am copying Mike Finn, as well. He did a great job putting together the info and all the preplanning.  On behalf of us all: Spaseba and Dosvidan!!! 
The Kovich's and the White'
sronald.kovich1@gmail.com

Dear Mike,  Our group totally enjoyed the 2 day tour in St. Petersburg! It is a beautiful and interesting city. Our guide (Elena Lyapakina) was outstanding. I will certainly send my cruise clients in your direction. Thank you!
 
Linda Smith
The Travel Merchant
Cruise & Vacation Specialist
Phone: (760) 634-0223
Email: Lindasmi@aol.com

 
     
 

Dear Red October,
My family & I just returned from a 10-day visit to the Baltic’s and I have to say that our tour of St. Petersburg was the highlight of our trip. We were the first off the cruise ship (no problems at all!) at 7:30am, breezed right through passport control, and were met by our guide and driver.  Tanya was fabulous, as was our driver (unfortunately I don’t remember his name)! Her knowledge of the area and of the sights that we saw was amazing. We saw everything we wanted to and more! Thank you for providing such an excellent service! I will, without hesitation, recommend your company to friends and colleagues who are planning to visit the area.
Wishing you continued success!
Noreen Berger
Raleigh, North Carolina
noreenberger@att.net

Mike
Our group of 8 individuals used Red October to tour St Petersburg 7-9 July 2010. Our tour guide was Catherine Kuralesina and our van driver was Igor. We engaged the service of Red October after two separate recommendations from friends who used the service last year.  Based on the glowing recommendations, our expectation for excellence was high, and that's exactly what we received! Catherine was the perfect tour guide for our group. She was exceptionally professional, considerate, and courteous during all three days. She provided a staggering amount of detail about the city, the Tzars and their families, art, Russian culture and a multitude of other related information. We marveled at her knowledge and referred to her as our walking encyclopedia of St Petersburg.  We affectionately called her Catherine "The Greatest", because she was so good at her job. Catherine was complemented by Igor who was careful in his driving and always found the right spots to drop us off and pick us up at the various sightseeing places. This enabled us to optimize our time seeing important aspects of the city.  We unanimously agreed that we received high value for our investment with Red October, and each couple will recommend to friends who travel to St Petersburg to hire your service. Thanks for all you did to help arrange the tour.   Please pass this correspondence to the boss of Catherine and Igor so that he/she will know how pleased we were with both of them.
 Jim Cravens
cravensjb@aol.com
 
Hi Mike:  Just a short note to let you know that Judy Rennison and I have finally returned home after our travels. We want to thank you so much for all your assistance with our tours! It was a very hot day when we visited Berlin. Your driver George – picked us up at the ship…he was most informative and lots of fun. Once in Berlin we picked up the guide Monika – she was also wonderful. As you can imagine, we had a very full day and we were pooped when we returned to the ship. And what can we say about St. Petersburg? Anton ( the driver) and Tanya( our guide) were WONDERFUL!. U have never seen so many sights in such a condensed period of time in my life. Both Anton and Tanya were very in tune with us in terms of when we needed to stop for lunch (for example). They delivered us to some restaurants we surely would not have ever found o our own and they thankfully joined us so we could learn a little about life in St. Petersburg.  All in all it was an amazing success and we will not hesitate to recommend Red October to anyone we might know who is heading that way!  If it helps to write a more formal letter extolling the virtues of the company in general and Anton and Tanya in particular – let me know and we would be happy to do so.  THANK YOU again for everything….it was an amazing trip made particularly memorable by you and yours.  One short question – the Gift Shop where we went to pay our bill with Red October. I think it was the Beriozka Art shop. Do they have a web site? Can I order from the web site? I find I did not bring home quite enough souvenirs for friends. Let me know and thanks. 
All the best,
Stephanie ( Stevie) Mitchell 
Stevie.Mitchell@telus.net

Mike, I wanted to pass along our thanks for the fantastic trip we had to St. Petersburg.  We arrived the morning of June 15th on the Eurodam.  Getting off the ship went very smoothly and we met our guide, Tatiana, outside the immigration office at 7:30 and were off.  First, I have to tell you that my wife wasn't sure about taking a private tour, but after a couple of hours she thought this was the best excursion we had ever been on in our 4 cruises.  The sights of St. Petersburg were fantastic and Tatiana was exceptional.  With two children (12 and 13) she did an outstanding job keeping them engaged and sharing the history and culture of the city.  There is no way we would have left St. Petersburg with as much knowledge or had such a positive experience in city without her.  Thank you Tatiana.  Trying to identify our favorite part of the visit would be impossible as it exceeded all of our expectations.  The Hermitage, Peterhof, and Catherine's Palace though have to rank at the top. Thanks for all of your efforts in coordinating our visit, it will be large part of our memories from our Baltic Cruise.
Rich Stirm
richs5005@hotmail.com

Mike:  Today we completed three days of wonderful touring with guide Tanya and driver Dmitri. We cant say enough good things about them and about Red October. Tanya is a skilled professional and is courteous and attentive. She enjoys sharing her substantial knowledge of the city. She and Dmitri made best use of our time with early admissions, navigating around city traffic and making on the spot adjustments to avoid loss of time. Tanya was most helpful with suggestions on what to do with our two free days.  Thank you for preparing an itinerary that wonderfully suited our needs. 
John 
Jpachter@smithpachter.com

Dear Mike, On behalf of our group of 8 who visited SPB on the 19-20 June, 2010 and completed the 2 day tour please accept our grateful thanks for a packed and  well organised tour. Our guide Natasha was a star who guided us through two full eventful days. May I wish you well for the future and I will not hesitate to recommend your company in the future. 
Spasiba
Graham Dowling 
ghdowling@sky.com

To Mike Finn,  Tom & I just want to thank you for all your help in planning our tour of St. Petersberg, Russia (June, 2010).  We were so fortunate to get Katheryn as our guide. We had a wonderful time and really saw a lot of the city. Thanks Mike for helping us with all the documents, we had no trouble at all.  If you ever have people who are leary of booking a tour that is not through their cruise line we would be happy to put them at ease.
Thanks again,
Tom & Ann Fullenwider
anntom@logical123.net

Good morning. Eight of us had the pleasure of touring with Elena in early June (Ron Hyslop’s group from the Eurodam). She was an exceptional guide and we truly enjoyed her knowledge of history, her enthusiasm, and her ability to guide us through all the venues in such a professional and speedy manner. It was the highlight of our cruise.
Ana S. Heltsley
Executive Secretary to Court Administrator
Supreme Court of California
350 McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone: (415) 865-7010
Email: ana.heltsley@jud.ca.gov
 

Dear Mike,  We just wanted to say thank you vey much for organizing the tour for us.  We had a fantastic time in St Petersburg and everything went according to plan. We even got off the ship without any problems and on time!  Victoria our guide was very very good and very knowledgeable about the history and everything to do with St Petersburg.  We have recommended you to other people on our cruise who are going to do the cruise again next year and we could not praise your company enough on what a fantastic day we had.  Many thanks again and hopefully we may do the trip again in a few years time and see other delights that St Petersburg has to offer. 
Regards 
Elaine and Bryan Bates (May, 2010)

Dear Mike Finn, We arrived in St. Petersburg's port on the Costa Ship "Atlantica" and the two couples of us (who had opted out of the ship's tour and had booked our own tour with Red October USA) were met at the departure point by our Red October guide and driver. We were the first passengers off after the ship had cleared customs at 9:00am and there waiting was our guide for the day and a better guide we could not have had for se was absolutely excellent and impressively knowledgeable in all periods of Russian history. The driver and van were of top quality and exceeded our original expectations.

Our shoret ime on the Costa cruise was extremely limited (only one day) therefore Red October did exceptionally well in gearing our tour to exactly what we were most interested in seeing. We were given a private tour of Catherine's Palace and Amber Room before the opening time, and then a private tour of the Gold Room at the Hermitage. We stood in NO lines, were admitted to each site with priority treatment and basically we felt like royalty ourselves. The Yusupov Palace (where Rasputin was poisoned) was very interesting with it's small private theatre, but our favorite site was the beautiful Peter and Paul Fortress and Cathedral - for these you need an inside tour to appreciate the the full beauty of the structure. The Hermitage was wonderful and we did enjoy an evening Russian Folkshow with dinner and gypsies! We can not say enough good things about our shore arrangements processed through Red October USA for everything was wonderful and all schedules operated like clockwork!"  
Isabelle Peterson,
Baptist Hospital Group,
Miami, Florida

Hello Mike, We had a great trip to Russia. Our guide was incredible. Her knowledge of art & history is is also incredible. Thank you for your help in making the arrangements.
Bill Darker
Darker's Cottages on Sparrow Lake
1176 Grandview Lodge Rd. SEVERN BRIDGE , ON, P0E 1N0, CANADA ph 705-689-1740

Dear Red October, On behalf of the group of 12 people who recently toured with Red October from the Royal Caribbean Ship sailing July 4th. 2009. I would like to thank you for the amazing tour you put together for us.  Elena Pago was a charming and knowledgeable guide. She kept us enchanted and engaged with her knowledge and stories of the history of Russia. We all learned so much and had a lot fun. I really did not think we could pack so much into 2 days but we somehow did. We have great pictures and of course great memories of this trip. I would heartily endorse Red October for anyone going on a Baltic Cruise.  I will pass this information on to the cruise operator that booked this for us. If anyone needs a recommendation, I would be pleased to provide one for Red October. Red October is a professional and knowledgeable tour operator who provided the 12 of us with the most delightful experience of Russia.  Thank you so much, it was a pleasure working with you and with Red October.
Dianne Garrels Munro - dbmunro@sympatico.ca

Hi Mike, We were part of our group of six that used Red October to tour St. Petersburg last week for two days. It was wonderful to be able to tour Catherine's Palace and Peter the Great Palace with them. They were able to open the Palaces to us on the two days they were closed. We didn't have to wait in line to enter any Church or Museum. My husband had the wonderful experience of being able to take photos in the Catherine Palace without any other person being in the room, since he was the first one to wander through the Palace. One of the highlights of the two days was having lunch with the Russian family. I think we were the only R.O. group from the Regatta to do this. When I mentioned that I was Jewish, Helen, our guide took us to the Choral Synagogue. Apparently, the ship also was able to tour the two Palaces those two days. I didn't hear any reports from anyone about the ship's tours, but having only six people in a van had a lot of advantages. I think there were about 35 or so from the ship who were using Red October. The price for two people is high, but it goes down with four people and further reduces for six. We saw the other groups at lunch the first day and at the Red October Store. Every group had a personally designed tour which was set up through by Red October in advance. They all seemed to thoroughly enjoy their tours. We didn't need a Visa because we were using Red October. They sent us tickets to get past immigration and were waiting five feet from immigration in case of any problem. I would definitely suggest using Red October to anyone planning to visit St. Petersburg. Max

Dear Red October, Thanks for a great experience in St. Petersburg with Catherine and Gennady. My sister and her three 20-something kids were with me for the 2-day tour. Catherine has 2 college degrees. She looks like actress Naomi Watts and is incredibly personable. She had the answer to every question. Amazing!! Catherine was able to get us to the head of the lines repeatedly. This really saved time. Gennady is a great driver. We had a nice Mercedes van. He knows how to get around St. Petersburg’s crazy traffic. We really enjoyed the dinner with the Russian family. The Hermitage and Peterhof were incredible. This was the highlight of our Baltic adventure.  Thanks to Red October! It’s the best value to see "Peter" - as the Russians call the city. 
Mike Maguire, Century, May 27-28, 2009 - mmlongwood@embarqmail.com

Dear Mike: This past August we enjoyed a 2 day tour of St. Petersburg which you organized for our group (7 people including a 12 year old) from a cruise ship. Because you gave us such great service in setting up the booking – efficient and easy – I was hoping that we’d experience the same when we got to SPB – and we were not disappointed!  We had a fantastic time with our guide Helen, and driver Alex – they became like friends. Aside from the fact that SPB is a great place to visit on its own merits, the service we had with Red October made the visit even better. Our itinerary was exactly as you had booked, but we had the flexibility to add other stops if time permitted, which it did since not only did Alex really know his way around the city, around traffic jams and to convenient parking spots, but also, we made a point of getting off the ship in good time! Let me add here that while the cruise line did make prominent mention in the daily bulletins that we would not be allowed off the ship until their own shore excursion passengers disembarked, we followed your advice and just proceeded to the gangway early. Nobody even asked us which tour we were on! We had no trouble getting off the ship, and going through Passport Control was a breeze – everything was in order as per your instructions. Helen was an exemplary guide – not only is she very knowledgeable and personable, but she also got us past the long line ups of bus tourists, was very organized with venue tickets (minimal waiting), made sure we had ample time to spend in each of the palace or art gallery rooms and got the photo opportunities that we wanted – and even made sure we got to strategically timed and placed ‘comfort stops’ (her term) that were clean and line up free! (Our family members who chose shorter cruise line shore excursions because of their young children, were not so fortunate in any of these aspects.) We also appreciated the efficiency at the Red October stores – again, we followed your instructions on final payment to the letter and were done in 3 minutes. Also the variety and quality of the goods in the stores was extensive and, by the second day, we came to understand the different levels of quality for the price on things like lacquered boxes and nesting dolls and could make informed decisions about our purchases. Our lunch at a local restaurant the first day was very good – Helen made sure we got the borscht for our first course instead of the vegetable soup we were first offered (she never stopped watching out for us), it was delicious. We took your advice and packed a lunch for the second day to eat on the hydrofoil back from Peterhof so that we could have the extra time to visit the Gold Room at the Hermitage. Over 2 days we walked a total of 22 kilometers – but it was never too much at any one time – we were happily tired at the end of our tour and very satisfied – we’d have done more if there were more hours in a day!  Mike, all of your advice was excellent. We all truly enjoyed a most memorable visit to St. Petersburg and it was Red October that made it so. And we got way more for our money with Red October in comparison to the costs of shore excursions offered by the cruise line – never mind the special attention and added conveniences listed above that you just can’t get on a cruise line tour.  All of our group agrees that Red October is definitely the way to go for anyone going to St. Petersburg – your North American booking service makes it easy from the start and the operations group in St. Petersburg makes it a thoroughly rewarding experience to the finish.  Needless to say – a number of months have past since we were on our tour and we are still so enthusiastic about it – we recommend Red October to anyone considering going to St. Petersburg! 
Thank you again,
Sincerely, 
Dawn A. Longshaw
Vancouver, BC

Hello Red October: We cruised with Royal Caribbean (July 1 out of Harwich), and were very fortunate to have hooked up with Red October for our 2 days in St. Petersburg. From the moment we contacted Red October, we were given excellent treatment. Mike Finn is very professional and completely took care of us- he is more impressive than anyone we dealt with at RCL. Indeed, RCL tries to get people to use their tours, including by suggesting in its material that people on independent tours cannot leave the ship until after the RCL tours have departed, this is simply not true, and hopefully RCL will stop doing this (after we, and others, complained about this, the cruise relations director on our ship said the RCL written materials would be changed). RCL was ok, but Red October was absolutely terrific. If anyone wants to tour St. Petersburg, we strongly recommend using Red October- if you don't, you will not get the most out of this wonderful city. If RCL tries to give one of your customers the run around, just tell them to ignore the RCL people, and they will get off the ship and be able to take the tour with Red October.  Our driver, Anatoly, and guide, Irina, were at the dock waiting for us on day one- they made us feel welcome and important from the first moment we met them. The tours they took us on were great.  The van was spacious, clean and in excellent condition. Anatoly is a great driver, and made sure we were comfortable and safe. Irina was the best- she is an excellent guide, who gave us first class treatment. If anyone is going to St. Petersburg, we encourage them to ask for Irina, so they will be guaranteed a great tour.   Irina told us about life in Russia, and seemed to know everything possible about the various sites we saw! Irina was able to get us priority access to all venues, which saved many hours we otherwise would have wasted standing in line with larger tour groups. Irina could not have been better, and we ask that you pass along our heartfelt thanks to her. The Red October store was also excellent- lots of excellent souvenirs at reasonable prices (we found the Red October store to be better than Swan Lake). Again, thanks for providing such excellent service, and please thank Anatoly and Irina for us.

Len Griffiths.  GRIFFITHSL@bennettjones.ca 

Dear Mike, Myself and my wife have just returned from a cruise to the Baltics (Sept 08) where we used Red October to show us around St Petersburg. The service we got was fantastic. Previous testimonials have stated how good the service is but I'd just like to say that our guide Tatiana, and driver Edward were exceptionally brilliant. We were met off of the boat by Edward and Tatiana and from that moment on we had the best two days of our cruise. Nothing was too much trouble, all questions answered very politely and in clear English, and we got to see so much of the beautiful city of St Petersburg that we were exhausted by the end of the first day. Day two was equally as brilliant and it was a shame that our trip had to end because it felt like Tatiana and Edward were old friends. A lot can be said about service and what people expect it to be, the service we received was truly amazing and I hope you not only pass our thanks onto them both but also give them a bonus for a job that exceeded expectations. We'll definitely visit again and we'll be recommending your company and our two guides to others.
 
Kind regards,
Stewart Casey - stewart_casey@hotmail.co.uk

Hello Mike, I just wanted to let you know that our trip to St. Petersburg (August 2008) was a huge success thanks to our fabulous tour guide Helen and our trusty driver. She was a walking wealth of information, and she spoke perfect english. There wasn't a question that she couldn't answer - in detail! And that was quite a challenge with our group of 12 since my 81 year old father was born in Czechoslovakia and is also very knowledgeable about European history. He challenged her, and she politely and patiently went head to head with him. We were able to see more of St. Petersburg than we ever could have with a large cruise tour, and Helen swiftly got us in and out of places without any problems. She accommodated our requests and altered the order of things to make the most of our limited time. We told her we didn't want a big sit down lunch, and she took us to a "pie shop" which was a highlight of our trip. We insisted on returning the next day. And when the pie shop was out of chocolate, our driver ran over to another location, and picked up some pies for us to go. That's service!!!  We also had no trouble at all getting off the ship. Someone had told us not to listen to the Princess announcements and scare tactics, and just disembark early instead of waiting in the lounge like they ask you to. Our tour was scheduled to start at 8:00AM. I had our group of 12 downstairs at 7:20, and we cleared customs (both the Princess and non-Princess lines took everyone) in 5 minutes. Helen was there waiting for us at 7:25AM even though we were not scheduled to disembark until 8AM. AWESOME!  Our time in St. Petersburg was smooth and effortless thanks to our Red October tour. I would highly recommend you to anyone that plans on traveling to Russia.
Thanks again,
Tammy Barash - Tcbearish@aol.com
Los Angeles, CA August, 2008

To: Mike Finn at Red October, USA Hi, Mike: Last April/May you arranged a 2-day private tour of St. Petersburg for our party of 4. (Bruce Staples in Toronto, Canada was the contact person.) We were sailing on Cunard's "Queen Victoria"; and from June 30 to July 1 we were docked at St. Petersburg where Red October provided us with a private Mercedes van plus driver (Gennady) & guide (Tatiana). Although we've taken a while to get back to you, we want you to know how impressed we were with everything that you and Red October did for us. All the details were attended to responsibly and professionally, and the entire tour ran like clockwork.

When we emerged from Passport Control on the first day, the Red October vehicle was waiting right outside, and a smiling Tatiana and Gennady greeted us enthusiastically. It was a pleasure to be in the company of such pleasant and capable people for the next 2 days. Gennady deftly managed to thread the van through the always challenging St. Petersburg traffic -- and still remained smiling at the end of each day! Tatiana's friendly charm and expansive knowledge made our overall experience one we'll remember for a long time.

In fact, we can't say enough good things about Tatiana. Her English was impeccable; her manner polite & refined; and her effervescent personality communicated her enthusiasm for her job, as well as the history of St.Petersburg and the various churches and palaces we visited. In addition, her thorough knowledge of the Hermitage, its layout, and its collections allowed us to experience as much as possible in the short time we were able to spend there.

Once again, we thank you and Red October for your professionalism, and, if it's possible, we hope you'll pass this email along to Tatiana and Gennady who made our 2-day tour the highlight of our 2-week vacation. We highly recommend Red October (and St. Petersburg) to anyone looking for an outstanding private tour experience.

Sincerely,

Bruce Staples - Toronto, Canada
Ross Gentleman - Toronto, Canada
Kim Knutson - Calgary, Canada
George Gentleman - Calgary, Canada rossgentleman@sympatico.ca


Hi Mike, I just want to thank you for giving us Katie as our guide in St. Petersburg. She was wonderful! Her English was perfect, her knowledge of the city was extensive, and she got us to the head of the line each place we went. We thoroughly enjoyed the city because of her and the interesting things she told us. Please tell her how much we enjoyed her company! We are very glad we used your company and you can give us as a reference if you ever need one.

Thanks again!
Sue and Joe Saloman
Were in St. Petersburg July 5-7th - ssaloman@comcast.net

Dear Mike,
FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The tour in St. Petersburg was better than horosho. It was wonderful. And all my worrying was for naught. The cruise line did try to scare us everyday on the ship, but we did as you suggested and had no problems at all. There was one lady in another group who did listen to the scares and waited until 9:30 am to start her tour. The passenger service desk told her that this year, the ship was not letting anyone off the ship until after all the Princess tours were gone and she listened to them. Thank you for encouraging me not to listen to them. My group met at 6:15 am and we even were in the gangplank area when the Russian authorities came on board. As soon as they left, the security people from Princess opened the doors and we exited and they said “Have a good day”. They didn’t care who got off the ship. At the passport area, there were 2 doors – one for Princess tours and the other for independent tours. The guard waved some of our group through the Princess door and my group was through that area in less than 5 minutes. We were so early; we got there before Red October. Our guide was Helen and the driver was Peter (or Peter the Great as Helen called him). She said to say Hello to you. She was terrific – very knowledgeable and a great sense of humor. Our first day was a great start for the 2 day tour. We started very early and didn’t end until after the Folklore Show. We all decided that this was a trip we should have taken about 10 years ago when we were younger. We are all in our mid to late 60’s and the legs, knees and ankles don’t work as well these days. Helen was able to change the order of our tour based on the fact that some places were not yet open when we arrived in that area. The 2nd day, we started a little earlier because she was informed that 5000 people were scheduled for Catherine’s Palace that day, so we got there before the crowds. We walked right in and as we left we saw the huge line of people waiting to enter. Everyone of my group said it was the best tour of the whole trip. Spasebo for not letting me be scared by all the Princess warnings. I will be recommending Red October to anyone who is visiting St.Petersburg. And you can be sure, I will tell them how easy it is to leave the ship even though the cruise line sends them all the scary letters
Do Svidanya
Sandra
Izvenite if I misspelled the words - bluewater@fuse.net

Dear Mike: We have just returned from our trip and wanted you to know how outstanding our visit to St. Petersburg was! The two days were memorable and rewarding and we were completely satisfied with every aspect of the experience. Our driver, Gennady and our guide, Katia (Vladimirova), did everything possible to make our trip fulfilling and enlightening. What we did in two days would have taken four days with a traditional "tour group", and the experience was worth every dollar, and then some! The itinerary you designed worked very well, particularly with a cruise that was in St. Petersburg on Monday and Tuesday. The schedule for the 10+ hours on Monday (when the Hermitage was closed) left us a comfortable time frame on Tuesday to see both the Peterhof and the Hermitage. Katia made certain we had memorable "local" lunches both days. Again, thank you for all of your assistance and please forward our appreciation and satisfaction to the folks in St. Petersburg.

David and Nancy Schachnovsky
July 18, 2008 - nschachnovsky1@comcast.net

Dear Mike Finn,  I would like to compliment Red October for providing my family and guests a spectacular 2 day tour experience on July 2-3, 2008! We booked through your company for a two day tour in St. Petersburg, Russia, and can't say enough about how wonderful it was. Our guide, Tatiana, and driver, Dimitri, were absolutely outstanding. They met us immediately upon disembarking from Jewel of the Seas and due to our prompt start, we had the opportunity to view many sights as well as completely enjoy all aspects of our tour itinerary. They made us feel welcome and provided us with a fantastic time both days!  We were very pleased with the recommended selection of activities-the Peter and Paul Fortress, Hermitage, Hydrofoil to Peterhof ( the gardens and Grand Palace) the folklore show as well as Pushkin, Catherine Palace, St. Issac, Church of the Savior on the Spilled Blood, the luncheon with the Russian family and the cruise of the rivers and canals. It was hard to say good bye after two days!

Our driver, Demitri, was superb at confidently negotiating traffic and found convenient parking at each stop. He masterfully handled traffic so that we arrived the second day at Catherine's Palace, well ahead of other tour groups. As executives and professionals, we were very impressed with Tatiana's tremendous knowledge of art, architecture and history as well as her superb command of English.

 I am willing to write a more detailed letter of recommendation for you, but at this time, I wanted to share the very positive experience we had with your company. We will definitely be recommending Red October to others, but I wanted you to know and to share our immense satisfaction with our tour team of Tatiana and Demitri. Again, our compliments for creating such a memorable time in St. Petersburg! As we returned to our cruise ship, and listened to others talk about their excursions, we know we made the best decision to select Red October. Again, congratulations for a job well done!

Sincerely,
Dr. Elaine Middlekauff - emiddlekauff@gmail.com

Hi Mike,  We got back last Monday June 9, 2008 and I wanted to let you know what a wonderful trip we had. Red October was at the port waiting for us, after a long time getting through immigration. The ship actually was very helpful in that matter and did not hold us up. Our guide was delightful. Her name is Julia and she was very well spoken, very knowledgeable and a lot of fun to be with. The drive was also very nice. We had 2 wonderful days and saw just about everything I think we could. The only disappointment was that the war memorial was closed.  I will definitely recommend your company to anyone who is doing this trip.  Thanks again for all your help in coordinating our itinery.

Iris Aizer -ARIDAR@aol.com


Hi Mike,  Just back from St Petersburg. We LOVED the tour and our guide Elena was a fountain of knowledge. It made such a big difference from being on the large ships tours. We made small adjustments as we went along and saw everything and more that we had asked for. As a travel agent I will happily recommend your company.

Thanks again. June, 2008
Rochelle Brown, CTC
Senior Travel Consultant
Carlson Wagonlit Travel, 7355 Bayview Avenue, Thornhill, Ontario L3T 5Z2
Direct Line: 416-224-2438 Office Line: 905-707-7222

Mike- We just returned from our Baltic trip onboard the Crown Princess and just wanted to let you know how wonderful our time in St Petersburg was thanks to our guide, Julia and our driver, Alexander. It was the highlight of our cruise and we all feel that we know more Russian history than we do American history thanks to Julia's knowledge and enthusiasm. We saw more in 2 days than I thought possible and gained early entry into many of the venues. Your company does an amazing job.
We had no problems disembarking the ship and did not receive any nasty or threatening letters from Princess. The entire process was smooth
and painless.

Thanks again,
LuAnn Rockett
May 24-25, 2008 - aerockett@gmail.com

Mike, We want to let you know we had a wonderful time in St Petersburg. Our hostess Veronica with Red October were wonderful and brought the City and History alive for us. Veronica had a fantastic knowledge of the history of Russia and we hope we can visit with her again. We would definitely recommend Red October to our friends.

Regards,
Reg Findlay
FluidClarification - June, 2008
(780) 460-7112 (780) 940-9854

Mike,  We have just returned from our cruise and our tour in St Petersburg with Red October. I am writing to tell you how happy we were with our tour. Thank you for giving us such a wonderful guide and driver. We were so pleased with Irina Prokopova and our driver Alexander. They made sure that we saw everything and went above and beyond to get us there even though the streets were being shut down for the birthday celebration. Many tours missed seeing a lot of things as it was difficult getting around, but we did not miss anything. Irena is amazing in her knowledge of her country and St Petersburg. It was clearly apparent that she loves the city of St Petersburg and she showed it to us through her eyes and we loved it too. Her English was flawless, and she was easy to understand. Our driver also did an excellent job. They should both be commended. I have already recommended your company, and specifically Irena to another couple who were on the cruise, but did not tour with you and were envious of how much we had seen. They intend to return and book with you. Thank you again for a wonderful visit to Russia.

Sincerely,
Art and Robin Wood
June 2008

Mike, We just returned from our cruise that included a 2 day St. Petersburg tour on Aug 20th. The efforts of Svetlana and Dmitri (forgive the spelling; Russian names are not easy to spell for an American!) were just outstanding! It is difficult to believe that Svetlana was so knowledgeable about so many things!   We got off the ship about 15 minutes early and they were waiting. Traffic was light both days and they were able to fill in time with interesting side trips that we had not planned or expected. All in all, it was the highlight of our trip! We would whole heartedly endorse Red October to anyone that was interested.  Also, as you indicated, all of Princess' talk about not letting passengers without a visa off the boat was nothing but a load of BS. Strangely, they let up on all the nonsense the day before the tour and a actually opened up a gangway just for independent tour people so that we were able to walk off the boat right behind the Russian customs people and were the 1st tourists thorough the document stations which turned out to be very easy and absolutely no problem.  Again, thanks for everything. The tour was worth every ruble.  
Regards,
Reid Bohning -  rbohning@gaborinsurance.com

Mike -  Thank you ---- Just returned from our trip and wanted to tell you how delighted we were with the services provided by Red October. Our guide, Elena and driver, Uri proved to be the link that made St. Petersburg come alive for both my wife and me. Without their services, the city would have just been a city to see, but their insight was the difference. I would tell all that if they want to see Russia, they should start with Red October.

WARREN GOLDMAN
RIVER VALE NEW JERSEY - WG4081@aol.com
June, 2007  

Dear Mike. We have just returned from our Baltic cruise on Oceania. It was just wonderful and our days in St. Petersburg were fabulous…….definitely the highlight of the trip. Our guide, Nina, was so knowledgeable and so nice to us. She really did everything possible to make us comfortable and happy. We couldn’t have asked for a better guide. We loved everything about the city and the people were so nice. Our driver was also very nice and very capable. I must tell you that one of the most interesting things on our itinerary was the lunch with the Russian family. We really liked that a lot. Thank you, Mike, for all your help on planning the days in St. Petersburg. You and the company did everything just the way you promised and we appreciate that.  We are 100% satisfied with you and Red October. As a matter of fact, I am giving your name to a friend who is going on the same cruise next year. 
Terry and Marty Brown
Fountain Hills, Arizona - mabrown@cox.net
June 18, 2007


Hi, Mike - just wanted to let you know the 2-day tour we had in St.Petersburg on May 29th and 30th was excellent. Dmitri did a very good job in getting us around the sights and not getting bogged down and losing time. I would be glad to recommend Red October to anyone touring Russia.
Thank you,
Jimmy Villamagna
Supervisor, Special Crews
Great Neck Park District, 65 Arrandale Avenue, Great Neck, NY 11023 (516) 482-2456 - gnjimmy@greatneckparks.org


Dear Mike, - We took Red October tour of St. Petersburg in early September 2006 with our cousins, Steve and Betty Cooper. Now that we are back home, and we wanted to let you know how much we appreciated our tour guide, Christyakova Katia. She is a very special person and a tremendous asset to your organization.  St. Petersburg was truly a wonderful city, but the experience was tremendously enhanced by having Christyakova as our guide. She had an intimate knowledge of the city, its people, history, and culture. But she also had a very special ability to communicate all of this in a natural manner that we all could understand and appreciate. We gained an even more intimate view of the city through her many anecdotes about her family and her own life.  We naturally were somewhat apprehensive when we first disembarked from the Regatta and met Christyakova. Any concerns we may have had were, however, quickly dissipated. We instead were immediately impressed with both her knowledge and demeanor.  Very much also appreciated how flexible she was in modifying our schedule to meet our evolving personal desires. For my wife, this meant going back to the markets to purchase souvenirs she originally declined to buy. For all of us, it was the trip to the Folk Festival and a very special ride on the Metro. We all felt that Christyakova was genuinely interested in making our visit as enjoyable and stress free as possible. And she continually translated our desires to concrete actions.  We have talked to many of our friends and showed them pictures of our memorable Baltic cruise. To all we highly recommended that they book tours with Red October and of course request Christyakova as their tour guide. My wife and also hope to return to Russia and we of course will do the same Richard and Lenore Chais PS We are not sure we have Christyakova correct email address. Please forward this message to her, and pass on our thanks for a great trip to Russia. 

Richard Chais & Associates, 13714 Oasis Terrace, Lakewood Ranch, FL 34202-5004 Phone: (941) 870-4329 Cell: (301) 529-5043 Email: rich@rchais.com

Dear Mike, Our tour was wonderful as was our guide, Irina, and our driver as well.  Irina was so knowledgeable and proficient and everything went perfectly. The ship didn't give us any trouble getting off on time either day. We saw so much and really enjoyed both days with Irina. 

Thanks, Sherrill & Walt Prather - waltprather@sbcglobal.net
Aug. 18th , 2006 Royal Caribbean Cruise

 Hi Mike, We (12 people) arrived safely from our Scandinavian & the Baltic’s Cruise.  We had a wonderful time and enjoyed our visit in Russia. Our guide was very knowledgeable and pleasant. Definitely, I will visit again Russia with more time. I want to thank you again for all your help and assistance in our Russian Tour for two days. It has been a pleasure to do business with you. 
Best Regards, 
Linfa    
Travel Agent : (925)-363-7176

 Dear Mike: Thank you for your efforts on our recent St. Petersburg visit Your tour guide, Luba, was terrific. She was knowledgeable and insured that we saw as much as we could on the 2 days. Please insure that she is commended accordingly. You can certainly use me as a reference. Thanks and regards, Stew Alexander sjalex@7718law.com 

 Dear Mike,
Just wanted to thank you for all your help. Our "Red October" tour of St. Petersburg was the highlight of our trip. All worked out extremely well, with getting off the ship, etc. etc. We can't speak enough about our guide....she was so knowledgeable and interesting... I will surely recommend "Red October" to future clients visiting Russia.
Thank you again,
Sandy Levine/Agent
KPT Travel New York Circle78@aol.com

Hi Mike: We're back home from our cruise. The Red October excursions in St. Petersburg were certainly a highlight. Everything went off like clockwork, which is more than I can say for other tours we took. In particular I would like to commend our guide, Tanya Knisheva, who was so gracious and enthusiastic and thoroughly professional. She went out of her way to give us a good experience. As we say over here, she's a "keeper." Also I appreciate your careful planning which got us off on the right foot.   
 Sincerely, Carter - cgmosher1@msn.com

On behalf of my group that visited St. Petersburg aboard the INSIGNIA on 19-21 July, 2006. I want to express our thanks for the outstanding tour provided by our guide, Victoria, and our driver, Leonid (not sure if I spell that right). They were highly professional, and extremely knowledgeable about the history and the region. They worked hard to meet any request we made. We had an exceptional 3-day visit because of their efforts. You can be sure we all will recommend Red October to anyone we know heading for Russia in the future. 
Sincerely, 
Steve Boster - sinwithzin@hotmail.com

The Red October shore excursion in Saint Petersburg was all we hoped it would be, and more. We did more in two days than I ever would have thought possible, yet we never felt rushed or exhausted, nor did we feel that we were being manipulated to meet the tour operator’s schedule.  Our small group (six tourists, one guide, a driver and a nice big mini-van) allowed us to go where we wanted at an efficient pace and bypass the many long lines at the various attractions. Katherine was an outstanding guide: knowledgeable, enthusiastic and energetic.  It was an intense and enlightening visit to Russia and we want to thank you for making it so satisfying.
Dick and Doris Scott (July 2006)
dscott@jccc.edu

Hi Mike, We just returned home from our Baltic Cruise on Oceania's Regatta. I just wanted to take the time to say "thank you" for the wonderful time we had in St. Petersburg. Our guide, Tatiana was great. She was so knowledgeable and friendly - just made our trip an absolute pleasure. Yuri is a fantastic driver....we live in California and can get into major traffic jams....nothing compared to St. Petersburg at rush hour! Wow!  I had heard Red October was great before we left, but I tried not to get my hopes up too high because I didn't want to be disappointed. It was everything I expected and even more. St. Petersburg is absolutely beautiful and we are so glad we were able to experience it with Red October. I would recommend you to anyone!
Thank you,
Kim Morales

Dear Mr. Finn, I booked a Red October tour for June 21 and 22, 2006. I was extremely satisfied with the tour and operators. Our guide, Katrina, and driver, Alexander, were very efficient and knowledgeable. They were able to answer all our groups’ questions and meet our requests. I told several other cruise passengers of your company’s outstanding service. The cruise line’s tours of St. Petersburg cannot match a tour by Red October. I strongly recommend Red October to any tourist visiting St. Petersburg. Thank you for making our visit most memorable.
Daniel Lockwood 
Kissimmee, Florida - DLOCKWOO@kissimmee.org

Mike, I just wanted to tell you that Teresa and Earl May just returned from our cruise that included the Red October 2 day excursion to St Petersburg. Our guide and our driver were exceptional. We can not believe how much we were able to see and experience on the tour.  I will recommend your services to anyone going to St Petersburg and I thank you for setting up the tour for us. 
Earl May
Salisbury NC - emay@olon.com

....to get the best for less, it is hard to beat Red October Land-Sea Travel Tours.  We found one outstanding alternative: the St. Petersburg tour company Red October Land-Sea Travel. We tried them on a recent visit, and we were more than impressed with the results. ...you can save money and see much more in the same amount of time. My smile got even bigger when I saw how Elena breezed ahead of hundreds of people exiting tour buses, and took us directly to the entrance for the Hermitage Museum, tickets already in hand. I was amazed at how much more we saw, in a shorter time, than on my previous visits. The best part about touring with Red October Land-Sea Travel is that we never had to wait in line at any of the palaces/museums, etc. Although the lines were quite long everywhere we went, our guide got us right through. That alone was worth the price of the tour....can't say enough good things about Red October Land - Sea Travel. First class all the way.
 

 
   Return to Top  

 

Red October offers UNMATCHED QUALITY & VALUE.  
TOURIST VISA IS NOT REQUIRED.
 Shore Excursions & Day Trips to St. Petersburg, Novgorod & Moscow, Russia

Highly qualified RO guides are fluent in English, German, French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Japanese
Chinese and other languages helping you to have a very memorable and rewarding experience !

ST. PETERSBURG-MOSCOW RUSSIA TOUR GUIDE SERVICE - GUIDED TOURS AND SHORE EXCURSIONS 
Please take a few minutes and Submit a
Request for Quote < click on it

Red October USA
P.O. BOX 216

Rexford, New York, 12148, USA

E-mail: info@redoctober.us
Phone:
(518) 557-1230  -or- (518) 357-3383
www.redoctober.us

Please join Red October Company for your next trip to Russia.
RO staff never misses an opportunity to exceed your expectations.

___________________________________________________________________________

2015, Red October USA. All Rights Reserved.

                                                                                                                                        Return to Top